Martin Luther’s Christmas Day Sermon 1530

“In my sin, my death, I must take leave of all created things.  No, sun, moon, stars, all creatures, physicians, emperors, kings, wise men and potentates cannot help me.

When I die I shall see nothing but black darkness, and yet that light, “To you is born this day a Savior” [Luke 2:11], remains in my eyes and fills all of heaven and earth.

The Savior will help me when all have forsaken me…

If you can say: The Son, who is proclaimed to be a Lord and Savior; and if you can confirm the message of the angel and say yes to it and believe it in your heart, then your heart will be filled with assurance and joy and confidence, and you will not worry much about even the costliest and best that this world has to offer…

If it is true that the child was born of the virgin and is mine, then I have no angry God and I must know and feel that there is nothing but laughter and joy in the heart of the Father and no sadness in my heart.

Leave a Reply

