Charles Spurgeon on the Parable of the Talents

As I said last week, right now the lectionary is leading us to confront (or be confronted) by some of Jesus’ most confusing, difficult, and I would argue most misunderstood parables.  The following is from Charles Spurgeon’s sermon on the Parable of the Talents.  It doesn’t get much better than this:

This is THE VERDICT OF GRACE. Blessed is the man who shall acknowledge himself to be an unfaithful servant—and blessed is the man to whom His Lord shall say, “You good and faithful servant…” God first gives us Grace and then rewards us for it! He works in us and then counts the fruit as our work. We work out our own salvation, because “He works in us to will and to do of His own good pleasure.” If He shall ever say, “Well done” to you and to me it will be because of His own rich Grace and not because of our merits! And, indeed, this is where we must all come and where we must all stay, for the idea that we have any personal merit will soon make us find fault with our Master and His service as being austere and hard.”

Charles Spurgeon’s Sermon on the Parable of the Talents June 6, 1880

4 thoughts on “Charles Spurgeon on the Parable of the Talents

  1. Pastor Smith, is there a way for me to disable the GIFs on your posts?

    I love your posts, but the GIFs are a problem for me. I am a migraineur, and they can be triggers for me. I’d love to know how to stop them in my feed reader.

    Thanks for any information.

      1. Please don’t stop using them on my account! I am barely computer literate, and I just thought that since you made a gif, you could tell me how to disable it. But I can look around for an extension to Chrome that will do the job.

      2. Don’t worry about it. There is no way that I know of to disable GIFs. It was on the chopping block in my mind anyway and your comment was a confirmation to chop away.

Leave a Reply

