Martin Luther tells the Devil to eat “Dung”

“Devil, rage as much as you please, I do not boast of my good works and virtues before our Lord God at all, nor shall I despair on account of my sins, but I comfort myself with the fact that Jesus Christ died and rose again…  Therefore, devil, begone with both my righteousness and my sin.  If I have committed some sin, go eat the dung.  I’m not worrying about it, for Jesus Christ died…  No matter how much sin I have committed, even more than ten worlds can commit, I still know that Christ’s death and resurrection is far greater.”

Martin Luther’s sermon at the Funeral of the Elector, Duke John of Saxony, I Thes. 4:13-14, Aug. 18, 1532 found in Luther’s Works Vol. 51.

Leave a Reply

