The Mustached Wisdom of Paul Tripp

Here’s an insightful quote from Paul Tripp’s “Dangerous Calling.”  Although it’s about Pastors, it’s applicable no matter what your vocation is.  Enjoy!

“Only the gospel can free me from the fear of not being found worthy.  The fact of the matter is that I am unworthy.  I could never do or say anything that would make me worthy of my Father’s acceptance and affection.  I could never be so perfectly obedient as to earn his approval.  I am not in ministry because, by my own effort, I became a shining example of all that the gospel can produce.  I have been freed from the bondage of convincing myself and others that I am worthy.  I don’t need to privately argue for my worth or do things in public to prove it.  Jesus perfectly measured up; he was perfectly worthy on my behalf.  He accomplished what was impossible for me to accomplish so that I would be given standing that I did not or could never earn.  I don’t have to live as if I am still on probation, still being evaluated.  I have been accepted, and I have been called into ministry.  I have earned neither.  Both are gifts of grace.  I come into ministry with nothing to prove but this: the gospel of Jesus Christ is reliable and true and has the power to both free and transform you and me.”

Paul Tripp “Dangerous Calling: Confronting the Unique Challenges of Pastoral Ministry

For more Mustached Wisdom twitter.com/PaulTripp

Also, for thoughts directly from the Mustache, it also has a twitter account: twitter.com/TheTrippStache

 

Leave a Reply

