Martin Luther on the Gospel and Works

“Now the truth of the gospel is, that our righteousness comes by faith alone, without works of the law.  The corruption, or falsehood of the gospel is, that we are justified by faith, but not without the works of the law…

The true gospel is that the works of charity are not the ornament or perfection of faith: but that faith itself is God’s gift, and God’s work in our hearts, which therefore justifies us, because it apprehends Christ our Redeemer…

Now when I have apprehended Christ by faith, and through Him am dead to the law, justified from sin, delivered from death, the devil, and hell, then I do good works, love God, I give thanks to Him, I exercise charity toward my neighbors.  But this charity or works following, do neither form nor adorn my faith, but my faith forms and adorns my charity.”

Martin Luther’s “Commentary on Galatians

One thought on “Martin Luther on the Gospel and Works

Leave a Reply

