Martin Luther on Christmas

charlie-brown-linus

“In my sin, my death, I must take leave of all created things.  No; sun, moon, stars, all creatures, physicians, emperors, kings, wise men and potentates cannot help me.  When I die I shall see nothing but black darkness, and yet that light, “To you is born this day the Savior” [Luke 2:11], remains in my eyes and fills all heaven and earth.  The Savior will help me when all have forsaken me.”

-Martin Luther “Sermon on the Afternoon of Christmas Day 1530

Leave a Reply

